American Library Association gives #MIT Libraries the middle finger

@CyberPlayGround Loves Librarians who are the best defense for liberty in America.

American Library Association

James Madison Award

About the James Madison Award The award named for President James Madison was established in 1986 and is presented annually on the anniversary of his birth to honor individuals or groups who have championed, protected and promoted public access to government information and the public’s right to know at the national level.

Administered by:

Office of Government Relations logo

2013 Winner(s)

Aaron Swartz @Aaronsw

Before his untimely death in January, Swartz was an outspoken advocate for public participation in government and unrestricted access to peer-reviewed scholarly articles. Swartz was a co-founder of Demand Progress, an advocacy group that organizes people to take action on civil liberties and government reform issues. Swartz was also a leader in the national campaign to prevent the passing of the Stop Online Piracy Act, a bill that would have diminished critical online legal protections.
MIT Should Make All Its Research Open Access In Honor Of Aaron Swartz
Did MIT kill Aaron Swartz?