U.S. Presidential Scholars Program AWARDS GO TO

U.S. Presidential Scholars Program


Previous awards: 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003

This program was established by Executive Order in 1964 to honor academic achievement by graduating high school seniors.

It was expanded in 1979 to honor students in the arts and in 2015 to honor students in career and technical education (CTE).  Each year, up to 161 students are named, including at least one young man and woman from every state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and American families living abroad.  Another 15 students are chosen at-large, 20 students are scholars in the arts, and 20 students are scholars in CTE.  More than 5,200 candidates qualified based on outstanding ACT or SAT scores or through nominations by Chief State School Officers, partner organizations, or the National Young Arts Foundation’s nationwide Young Arts competition.  The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars — appointed by the President — selects the finalists based on their academic success, school evaluations, transcripts, and essays, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.  Scholars will be recognized at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., on June 23.


The Commission on Presidential Scholars is a group of eminent private citizens appointed by the President to select and honor the Presidential Scholars. Commissioners are selected from across the country, representing the fields of education, medicine, law, social services, business, and other professions. The Commissioners make the final selection of the 161 Presidential Scholars. The Scholars demonstrate exceptional accomplishments in academics, the arts, career and technical education and an outstanding commitment to public service.

The Commission on Presidential Scholars picked because of Money, Religion, And Republican Power.

Eileen L. Weiser
Commission Chair
Member, Michigan State Board of Education
The Weisers, both alumni of the University of Michigan, are Vice Chairs on the Campaign Leadership Board. 2014 $50 million gift to the University of Michigan.
$25 million designated to the Weiser Center for Emerging Democracies (WCED), in the International Institute. The WCED studies how democracies emerge, the conditions necessary for assuring and extending political, social, and economic freedom, and how autocracies endure in Europe, Eurasia, and beyond.
The Weisers have long been committed to the study of emerging democracies, an interest that deepened in 2001-04 when Ron Weiser was tapped by President George W. Bush to serve as the ambassador to Slovakia, a country that faced considerable challenges in its transition to a democracy.
Ronald and Eileen Weiser donate $1.25M for UM-Dearborn’s new $90M Engineering Lab Building project

RATES OF PAY Schedule 8 is effective January 1, 2019.

The other schedules contained herein are effective on the first day of the first applicable pay period beginning on or after January 1, 2019.
Sec. 8. Prior Order Superseded.
Executive Order 13856 of December 28, 2018, is superseded as of the effective dates specified in section 7 of this order.

Sally Atwater
South Carolina
Days before runoff, Sally Atwater accused of assaulting student
Education superintendent candidate’s spokesman calls lawsuit a ‘political hit job’ https://ballotpedia.org/Sally_Atwater

Harvey LeRoy “Lee” Atwater (February 27, 1951 – March 29, 1991) was an American political consultant and strategist for the Republican Party.He was an adviser to US presidents Ronald Reagan and George H. W. Bush and chairman of the Republican National Committee.

Tina S. Holland  Ph.D.
President, Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University
President, Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University President’s Office 225-768-1710   Tina.Holland@franu.edu

Mandy Manning
2018 National Teacher of the Year

Darla Romfo
President & COO, Children’s Scholarship Fund
North Dakota

His Eminence Cardinal Donald Wuerl
Apostolic Administrator of the Archdiocese of Washington
Washington, D.C.

Archbishop of Washington resigns over sexual abuse scandal
Pope accepts resignation of Cardinal Donald Wuerl following claims of cover-up

Donald Wuerl, the Church’s Most Oblivious Cleric

The cardinal’s repeated denials of knowledge and responsibility for sexual-abuse cover-ups defy all credibility.
The Catholic Church’s nightmare of a summer began with Theodore McCarrick. After news broke in June about his past sexual misconduct, including the abuse of minors, he resigned from the College of Cardinals and was exiled to a life of prayer and penance, out of the public eye. But the Archdiocese of Washington, which McCarrick once oversaw, remains very much in the eye of the storm.
There, McCarrick’s direct successor, the embattled cardinal Donald Wuerl, clings to his leadership role, even after weeks of criticism and calls for his resignation. He has done little to silence them and much to bring further censure upon himself.

The Catholic Sex-Abuse Scandal Takes Down a Cardinal
The pope has accepted the resignation of the leader of the Archdiocese of Washington. Wuerl was a leading character in the Pennsylvania grand-jury report about abuse in six Catholic dioceses that was released over the summer. During the time he was the bishop of Pittsburgh, from 1988 to 2006, he wrote to the Vatican warning about sexual abusers within his diocese, calling pedophilia “incurable,” according to the report. But he also oversaw the reassignment of abusive priests, the report alleges, and even lent money to one cleric after accusations surfaced. Once the report was published, he faced pressure to resign, as well as backlash from home: At one Pittsburgh-area Catholic school named for Wuerl, vandals spray-painted over his name, apparently in protest.